First Trip of the Year: Day 1

1 Jun

Well it was overdue by a long time, although I have had only a handful of days off the bike this year and I have managed to fit in a few Audax rides including two 200 km I haven’t had one touring trip yet! Ed and I started off from Penarth, not on the bikes but on the train to Merthyr Tydfil.  A short while later we were leaving the town behind and heading up the Taff Trail.

The route from Merthyr Tydfil followed an old railway for part of the way.

The route mainly followed an old railway line to Pontsticill Reservoir where it turned off into a woodland with a gravel track.  Whilst we enjoyed the trip through the woods with a crossing over a wooden bridge and a fast decent the track would probably be best missed by cyclists on road bikes, our 1.75″ Continental Travel Contact tyres were great.

Route 8 through a woodland section

Troll on a bridge

First gravel track of the day

With a mixture of quiet roads, a few hills and a great track around the back of Pen yr Fan we found ourselves in Brecon where we stopped for lunch. A couple of hours later and after covering 59 miles we arrived at our destination; White House Camping in Builth Wells.  The owner was a great guy and gave us the perfect pitch in a quiet spot overlooking the river, very biker friendly!

Camp for the night

After unloading the bikes and  pitching the tent I realised the cones on my Alfine Hub were extremely loose!  The Alfine hub is bolted to the frame and rarely comes off, I removed the wheel but realised I had removed the cassette tool from my bags before we left, I normally carry the cassette tool for Kates bike and had never thought I would need it to remove the disc on the hub to get to the cones.  I was able to tighten them with my finger tips and bolt the wheel back on the bike, a bike shop stop would be needed tomorrow.

We had a good view from the tent

Problems dealt with we went off to the pub.

2 Responses to “First Trip of the Year: Day 1”

  1. musekidd July 2, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    looks great… what kinda tent ya got there?

    • mr squeaky wheel July 3, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Its a Vango Tent, very strong but not so big. I like a tent you can get the bikes in like my Terra Nova that I used in Scotland, the only problem with the Terra Nova is that it blew away in strong winds at the bottom of Snowdonia.

Leave a Reply

