A Day in Conwy

29 Jun

I am visiting North Wales for a few days for work so I have been out and about on the bike.  I am staying in a great B&B in Conwy which is a really nice little town.

Today I rode from Conwy over to Abergele along Route 5, its a great route running along the sea front and only has a few hills along the way.

Route 5 in North Wales

On the way back I travelled through Llandudno which is a Victorian seaside town, it is only recently that it has been permitted for cyclist to use the promenade.

Rainbow in the distance

Llandudno Promenade

The wind picked up after I had crossed over Llandudno and there was a Kite Surfer out on water.  Soon afterwards the path disappeared in the sand and I ended up having to get off and push for a short distance.

Troll in the sand

Crossing the bridge over to Conwy from Llandudno provides great views of the Castle built in the 13 Century. On the bridge someone on a Surly Long Haul Trucker stopped to admire the Troll.

I then cycled into the town for a well earn’t pint and bag of chips on the quayside. On my way back to the B&B I cycled past the castle walls, at the top of the hill there was a tall turret with a viewing platform on the top, I had to climb it. I cycled around and soon found the entrance, you can walk around the castle wall which is over 1.25 kilometres long. At the top the were great views of the town and estuary.

One Response to “A Day in Conwy”

  1. musekidd July 2, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Great photos butty!… and what fabulous weather ya had too. I’m with ya on climbin’ up the castle turret… ya gotta do those things. (although, I would be sorely tempted to hurl a cow over the edge…)

Leave a Reply

